Back To Top

School Holidays

The school holiday periods in Australia are classed as peak season for travel thus we always recommend that you book your holiday accommodation for these periods at least 12 months in advance to ensure you secure the exact style of resort, holiday home or apartment to suit your needs.

For tours and attractions we recommend you can either book your Great Barrier Reef tour at the time of making your accommodation booking and if necessary as the time gets closer to your arrival we can move the dates (within cancellation policy) should the weather not be suitable or for other reasons.

You can normally be pretty safe to book your reef trips a minimum of 3 weeks prior to arrival and as above we can move the travel dates if totally necessary.

For Great Barrier Reef tours on Christmas Day these will need to be booked very early as there are not too many boats on the reef due to the high costs of wages for staffing in Australia. Can you imagine what your kids will say when you tell them you are spending Christmas Day snorkelling and scuba diving on the Great Barrier Reef?

Best Family Great Barrier Reef Trips

Rental cars are at a premium during school holiday periods so again if you feel you need a rental car book it early here.  

Cairns has two seasons one called the “dry season” and one called the “green season”. A lot of visitors choose between these two seasons to travel to North Queensland. Over the green season the weather is the same as you would experience in Bali, Fiji and other Pacific Ocean countries and the dry season has less rain but does have some windy days which can affect your Great Barrier Reef experience. 

Take a look here at the two seasons descriptions

Call our Tour Specialists team on 1300 761 612 to discuss your school holiday plans for your next trip to Cairns and Tropical North Queensland Australia. We are here in Cairns 7 days a week and happy to help book the right tours and attractions for your next school holiday break. 

Search your school holiday dates and public holiday dates for Queensland, Victoria, New South Wales, Canberra, South Australia, Tasmania, Western Australia and the Northern Territory.

Tropical North Queensland Best Family Holiday

School Terms 2019

  1st Term 2nd Term 3rd Term 4th Term
Queensland 29 Jan — 05 Apr 23 Apr — 28 Jun 15 Jul — 20 Sep 08 Oct — 13 De
New South Wales 29 Jan — 12 Apr 29 Apr — 05 Jul 22 Jul — 27 Sep 14 Oct — 20 Dec
Victoria 29 Jan — 05 Apr 23 Apr — 28 Jun 15 Jul — 20 Sep 07 Oct — 20 Dec
Australian Capital Territory 01 Feb — 12 Apr 29 Apr — 05 Jul 22 Jul— 27 Sep 14 Oct — 18 Dec
Tasmania 07 Feb — 12 Apr 30 Apr — 06 Jul 23 Jul — 28 Sep 15 Oct — 20 Dec
South Australia 29 Jan — 12 Apr 29 Apr — 05 Jul 22 Jul — 27 Sep 14 Oct — 13 Dec
Western Australia 04 Feb — 12 Apr 29 Apr — 05 Jul 22 Juy — 27 Sep 14 Oct — 19 Dec
Northern Territory 29 Jan — 12 Apr 23 Apr — 28 Jun 23 Jul — 27 Sep 14 Oct — 12 Dec


family tours »      reef tours »      accommodation »

School Terms 2020

  1st Term 2nd Term 3rd Term 4th Term
Queensland 28 Jan — 02 Apr 20 Apr — 26 Jun 13 Jul — 18 Sep 06 Oct — 11 Dec
New South Wales 28 Jan — 09 Apr 27 Apr — 03 Jul 20 Jul — 25 Sep 12 Oct — 18 Dec
Victoria 28 Jan — 27 Mar 14 Apr — 26 Jun 13 Jul — 18 Sep 05 Oct — 18 Dec
Australian Capital Territory 03 Feb — 09 Apr 27 Apr — 03 Jul 20 Jul— 25 Sep 12 Oct — 17 Dec
Tasmania 03 Feb — 09 Apr 27 Apr — 03 Jul 20 Jul — 25 Sep 12 Oct — 18 Dec
South Australia 28 Jan — 09 Apr 27 Apr — 03 Jul 20 July — 25 Sep 12 Oct — 11 Dec
Western Australia 03 Feb — 09 Apr 28 Apr — 03 Jun 20 Jul — 25 Sep 12 Oct — 17 Dec
Northern Territory 28 Jan — 09 Apr 20 Apr — 26 Jun 21 Jul — 25 Sep 12 Oct — 17 Dec

 

family tours »      reef tours »      accommodation »

 

Public Holidays

  2019 2020
New Year's Day Mon 01/01/19 Wed 01/01/20
Australia Day Fri 26/01/19 Sun 26/01/20
Australia Day Replacement Day Mon 28/01/19 Mon 27/01/20
Labour Day WA Mon 04/03/19 Mon 02/03/20
South Australia (Adelaide Cup) Mon 11/03/19 Mon 09/03/19
Labour Day VIC Mon 11/03/19 Mon 09/03/19
Tasmania (Eight Hour Day) Mon 11/03/19 Mon 09/03/19
Canberra Day ACT Mon 11/03/19 Mon 09/03/19
Good Friday Fri 19/04/19 Fri 10/04/20
Easter Monday Mon 22/04/19 Mon 13/04/20
Anzac Day Thu 25/04/19 Sat 25/04/20
Labour Day QLD Mon 06/05/19 Mon 04/05/20
May Day NT Mon 06/05/19 Mon 04/05/20
Western Australia Day WA Mon 03/06/19 Mon 01/06/20
Queen's Birthday (except QLD & WA) Mon 10/06/19 Mon 08/06/20
Ekka Wednesday QLD Wed 14/08/19 Wed 12/08/20
Queen's Birthday WA Mon 30/09/19 Mon 28/09/20
Queen's Birthday QLD Mon 07/10/19 Mon 05/10/20
Labour Day ACT, NSW & SA Mon 07/10/19 Mon 05/10/20
Melbourne Cup VIC Tue 05/11/19 Tue 03/11/20
Christmas Day Wed 25/12/19 Fri 25/12/20
Boxing Day Thu 26/12/19 Sat 26/12/20

 


spa locations »      fishing trips »      adrenaline tours »

Photos "Courtesy of Tourism Tropical North Queensland"